African Virtual University

The collaboration between Addis Ababa University and African Virtual University was was initiated in May 2013, and the AAU/AVU agreement was signed in August 2014. The aim of collaboration is to build the capacity of AAU with an objective of increasing access to quality education.

The African Virtual University (AVU) is a pan-African effort to create an open and affordable distance learning institution to serve the African continent. The AVU began in 1997 as a project of the World Bank and later developed into an autonomous institution after it was handed over to African governments in 2003. Fifteen African Governments have signed a Charter establishing the AVU as an intergovernmental organization. These include Ghana, Mozambique, Kenya, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Benin, Tanzania, Republic of Guinea, Sudan, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger,and Mauritania. The AVU has its headquarters in Nairobi, Kenya and a regional office in Dakar, Senegal.


Anchor Institution: Department of Computer Science
Start Date: May 2013
Formal Agreement: August 2014 -

Area of Collaboration